iOS 11: Initial Impressions

As a end-user who cares about security, I like to stick with iOS. It may not have customizability or flexibility of comparable Android devices, but at least I know the necessary security updates come, especially when it comes to potential zero-day exploits.

What I also really like about Apple is their long-term support for older devices. For example, my wife’s four-year-old iPhone 5s and iPad mini 2 (in terms of hardware generation) get iOS 11, including many of its nifty new features and security updates. The hardware runs the latest OS admirably and it’s a credit to how far mobile processors have come since the early smartphone days.

I know there is major hype surrounding the iPhone X (and much less so for the iPhone 8 devices), but I like my iPhone 6s Plus (and iPad mini 4). Unlike my wife, who is on an iPhone 5s with battery issues, I don’t need an upgrade. Back in the day, in the height of my “gadget fever,” I would have little hesitation to spend the money to upgrade. Now considering the overall cost of a high-end device and the need to be a more responsible adult with family to take care of, as long as the device I have suits my needs and daily use, I don’t mind wringing every last drop of usefulness out of it.

When running iOS 11 on my iPhone 6s Plus and iPad mini 4, the overall performance is solid – not great compared to iOS 10. For example, the animations and first-launch speed of apps aren’t as snappy (and 3D Touch app switching is gone!) They’re running two- and three-year-old processors respectively so it’s to be expected. Nothing drastic, but it’s worth noting.

UI-wise, while the general feel is the same, Apple seems to be going all in with larger fonts similar to their redesign of the Music app last year. One look at the redesigned App Store is evidence enough.

Image

Not a terribly big fan of it, but I understand the design choice considering they have to cater to end-users with poor eyesight as well (like me).

Features-wise, I think the iPad benefits more with this release. For example, there is the inclusion of the Files app which gives iOS a rudimentary file system to work with. It’s included on the iPhone as well, but this becomes more useful with the iPad to make it closer to a laptop replacement. Couple that with better multitasking and Split View, it’s a decent laptop alternative.

IMG_0024

I would say I’m more excited with the iOS 11 iPad enhancements than with the iPhone. Really makes the most of the hardware capabilities of the iPad mini 4.

All in all, aside from some annoying (lack of 3D Touch app switching) and expected (slightly reduced performance) quirks, I like iOS 11 especially for the iPad (I’m sure it will really shine if you have one of those fancier iPad Pros). Some of these quirks could be easily fixed with subsequent software updates. As an owner of older iOS devices, their usefulness (and security) are extended.

Now I’m curious how the iPhone X showcases iOS 11…

Leave a comment